Reggie Watts puts a dancehall spin on Dylan.
  • Wendy Lynch Redfern
  • Reggie Watts puts a dancehall spin on Dylan.

Former Seattle musician/comedian Reggie Watts has covered “Brownsville Girl” for a compilation of Bob Dylan covers titled Bob Dylan in the 80s: Volume One (out March 25 on ATO). Watts condenses the original 11-minute Dylan-Sam Shepard composition from 1986’s Knocked Out Loaded to 3:39 and converts the epic rock-soul ballad about a memorable ex into a fluttery rhythmed dancehall jam bolstered by Watts’ robust, supple vocals.

Check out the complete tracklist for Bob Dylan in the 80s: Volume One after the jump.

1) Langhorne Slim & The Law - "Got My Mind Made Up"(from Knocked Out Loaded, 1986)
2) Built To Spill - "Jokerman" (from Infidels, 1983)
3) Reggie Watts - "Brownsville Girl (Reprise)" (from Knocked Out Loaded, 1986)
4) Craig Finn (The Hold Steady) - "Sweetheart Like You" (from Infidels, 1983)
5) Ivan & Alyosha - "You Changed My Life" (from Shot Of Love outtakes, 1981)
6) Deer Tick - "Night After Night" (from Hearts of Fire Soundtrack, 1987)
7) Dawn Landes & Bonnie "Prince" Billy - "Dark Eyes" (from Empire Burlesque, 1985)
8) Tea Leaf Green - "Waiting To Get Beat" (from Empire Burlesque outtakes, 1985)
9) Aaron Freeman of Ween & Slash - "Wiggle Wiggle (from Under The Red Sky, 1990)
10) Elvis Perkins - "Congratulations" (from Traveling Wilburys Vol. 1, 1988)
11) Hannah Cohen - "Covenant Woman" (from Saved, 1980)
12) Marco Benevento - "Every Grain Of Sand" (from Shot Of Love, 1981)
13) Yellowbirds - "Series Of Dreams" (from Oh Mercy outtakes, 1989)
14) Blitzen Trapper - "Unbelievable" (from Under The Red Sky, 1990)
15) Lucius - "When The Night Comes Falling From The Sky" (from Empire Burlesque, 1985)
16) Glen Hansard - "Pressing On" (from Saved, 1980)
17) Carl Broemel (My Morning Jacket) - "Death Is Not The End" (from Down In The Groove, 1988)

Here are the seven bonus tracks available exclusively via iTunes as a Deluxe Edition. They'll also be included on the digital download card that accompanies the vinyl.

1) Spirit Family Reunion - "Man Of Peace" (from Infidels, 1983)
2) Widespread Panic - "Solid Rock" (from Saved, 1980)
3) Grayson Capps - "Silvio" (from Down In The Groove, 1988)
4) Neal Casal - "Property Of Jesus" (from Shot Of Love, 1981)
5) The Low Anthem - "Lenny Bruce" (from Shot Of Love, 1981)
6) Jesse Elliott (These United States) - "Handy Dandy" (from Under The Red Sky, 1990)
7) Chastity Brown - "Saving Grace" (from Saved, 1980)